Databases

Crush bottlenecks. Scale modern database workloads.

Supercharge your databases with a simple, resilient and efficient storage platform. FlashArray//XL delivers leading performance density at scale for the most demanding workloads.

Read the White Paper Read the Analyst Report

Database Architecture and Performance Improvement Graphic

Gain up to

performance per rack unit with FlashArray//XL R5 than other high-performance solutions.*

Reduce storage footprint by

50%

for AI vector embedding with FlashArray//XL R5.

Proven availability with

99.9999%

uptime for FlashArray. Your database storage stays always-on and disruption-free.

*Based on internal benchmarking compared with other solutions on the market. Results may vary depending on configuration, usage patterns and workload.

The data storage platform trusted by global leaders.

Power your most demanding database workloads with a high-performance storage platform that is simple, cost-effective and resilient.

Accelerate outcomes with peak performance at scale.

Speed up queries with microsecond latency and high throughput.

Learn More

One platform with zero headaches.

Simplify and automate database storage operations. Eliminate manual tasks and free up your team to focus on innovation.

Learn More

End downtime for good and reduce risk.

Protect critical data and meet your RTO/RPO objectives with resilient storage that keeps databases running—even during maintenance.

Learn More

Right-size your database storage and your costs.

Shrink your data center footprint, gain energy savings, and reduce TCO with scalable storage that grows as your business does.

Learn More

The most advanced data storage capabilities for your mission-critical databases.

Maximize performance. Minimize footprint.

Reduce TCO by up to 72% and consolidate business-critical workloads on fewer arrays with consistent, ultra-high performance microsecond latency, and industry-leading data reduction that maximizes usable capacity and efficiency.

Learn More

Space-efficient, instant snapshots.

Accelerate recovery, reduce risk, and improve operational agility with snapshots that are application-consistent, immutable for ransomware protection, and seamlessly integrated across on-premises and cloud environments.

Watch the Video

High reliability for your mission-critical database workloads.

Get the resilience your business needs to keep your workloads always-on and protected. Free database operations from storage maintenance.

Watch the Video

Continuous innovation and cloud agility.

Benefit from proactive updates, non-disruptive upgrades, flexible consumption, and a future-proof storage experience that adapts to your business—not the other way around.

Read the Solution Brief

Interoperability with database tools.

Seamlessly integrate with database tools to get automated snapshots, rapid clone provisioning, and policy-driven data protection.

Watch the Video

Cloud-native operations.

Enable database provisioning and management in any on-premises or cloud environment with PX-Data Services—a unified database platform-as-a-service.

Learn More

Explore storage solutions for your database platform.

Explore database storage technical resources.

Access blueprints for efficient database storage implementation and scaling.

WHITE PAPER

Using FlashArray Snapshots with Microsoft SQL Server

Best practices and suggested use cases for volume snapshots with Microsoft SQL Server.

Read the White Paper

REFERENCE ARCHITECTURE

SQL Server with Pure Storage Reference Architecture

A Reference Architecture for Microsoft SQL Server with Pure Storage.

Read the White Paper

WHITE PAPER

ActiveDR™ for SQL Server

Extend disaster recovery capabilities across data centers with FlashArray ActiveDR™.

Read the White Paper

WHITE PAPER

ActiveCluster for SQL Server

Read the White Paper

WHITE PAPER

Cloning Oracle Databases with FlashArray Volume Snapshots

A guide to Oracle Database cloning with Pure Storage® FlashArray™ volume snapshots.

Read the White Paper

BLOG

Oracle Database 19c on Oracle Direct NFS Using FA File

Read the Blog

BLOG

Rapidly Recovering from SQL Server Data Mishaps

Read how to restore data in a SQL Server database.

Read the Blog

VIDEO

Get Ready for SQL Server 2025: Accelerating AI, Performance, and Resilience

Watch the Video

Discover our partners.

Collaborating with database leaders and innovators to drive innovation.

Microsoft

Microsoft and Pure Storage collaborate to develop advanced solutions and unique product integrations for public, private and hybrid clouds.

[cta text]

[cta URL] https://www.

Learn More

Oracle

Oracle and Pure Storage partner to maximize and protect the value of your Oracle data for database, data warehouse, analytics and other workloads.

[cta text]

[cta URL] https://www.

Learn More

SAP

Pure Storage was the first to introduce all-flash storage for SAP HANA. We continue to innovate with SAP to reduce costs, automate processes and increase performance.

Learn More

What is data gravity?

The term “data gravity” was first introduced into IT lingo more than a decade ago by software engineer David McCrory. It describes the concept that data and applications are attracted to each other—similar to the attraction between objects explained by the Law of Gravity. McCrory was highlighting the concept that the quantity and the speed at which services, applications, and customers are attracted to data increases as the mass of the data also increases.

Learn More Learn More

1. What is database cloning?

Database cloning is the process by which a copy of an existing database system is made. It is a best practice adopted by database administrators and other professionals. An example use case would be a copy of the production database cloned for development testing, or reporting, or simply for backup. Another example would be a QA environment where a need arises to restore an environment to a specific point in time to perform testing. The cloning process is generally tedious, time consuming, and subject to errors. The Pure Storage FlashArray comes with snapshotting capability that users can leverage for a variety of purposes, including cloning databases quickly and easily.

Learn More Learn More

2. What is data reduction?

Data reduction is a capacity optimization technique in which data is reduced to its simplest possible form to free up capacity on a storage device. There are many ways to reduce data, but the idea is very simple—squeeze as much data into physical storage as possible to maximize capacity.

Learn More Learn More

3. What is an RDBMS?

A relational database management system (RDBMS) is a tool for managing databases that use the relational model of data storage in which structured data is stored in tables consisting of rows and columns. Relational databases come with a number of advantages, including:

Ability to quickly access specific data via fast SQL queries
Ubiquity of tools, technologies, and expertise for working with relational databases
Atomicity, Consistency, Isolation, Durability (ACID) compliance

Learn More Learn More